Select Page

Jude Bellingham Denied Late Winner Against Valencia, Sent Off After Insulting Refree2 min read

Jude Bellingham Denied Late Winner Against Valencia, Sent Off After Insulting Refree<span class="wtr-time-wrap after-title"><span class="wtr-time-number">2</span> min read</span>

Jude Bellingham was sent off after protesting referee Gil Manzano’s controversial decision to rule out what would have been a dramatic late winner.
Bellingham thought he had scored the winning goal for Real Madrid when he headed home a cross from Brahim Diaz. However, Manzano had blown his whistle just before Diaz played the ball into the box and the goal was not allowed to stand.

Real were absolutely furious and surrounded the referee to protest the decision, with Bellingham ultimately shown a red card. The 2-2 draw means Girona now have an opportunity to cut Real’s lead at the top of La Liga to just four points if they can beat Mallorca this evening.
Bellingham, meanwhile, is set to miss his side’s next league game against Celta Vigo as a result of his sending off, although reports from Spain claim that Real are planning to appeal the red card.

Manager Carlo Ancelott also insisted that Bellingham did not insult the referee after the match. “He didn’t insult the referee. He was respectful. He spoke in English and just said: ‘It was a f***ing goal’,” Ancelotti said.
Real also hit out at the referee, with the match report on their official website reading: “An unprecedented refereeing decision by Gil Manzano prevented Real Madrid from beating Valencia at Mestalla.

“The LaLiga leaders deserved all three points, but had to settle for a point after coming back from 2-0 down. Two goals from Vini Jr. tied the match, which was finally settled by Gil Manzano’s decision.”

However, La Liga TV co-commentator Graham Hunter insisted the referee was right to disallow Bellingham’s goal. “It [the whistle] had gone before the ball gets played in, it was loud enough to hear over the clamour,” Hunter said.

“In this instance, Madrid can complain all they want, but the whistle had gone. At half time, it was Valencia roaring [when the whistle was blown]. This is wrong. The referee is not obliged to wait because there’s a good chance coming.
“He wasn’t in the first half and he isn’t now. The whistle is blown before the cross goes in, the goal cannot stand. It’s unfortunate for the Englishman [Bellingham], it’s finished so so well but the referee had blown. No question of any double dealing whatsoever.”