Select Page

Napo Inaugurates Newly Constituted TOR Board1 min read

Napo Inaugurates Newly Constituted TOR Board<span class="wtr-time-wrap after-title"><span class="wtr-time-number">1</span> min read</span>


Energy Minister, Dr. Mathew Opoku Prempeh on Tuesday, (26 March) inaugurated the newly constituted board of directors of the Tema Oil Refinery (TOR).

The 11-member board chaired by Leon Kendon Appenteng and with Kofi Mocumbi Tagoe as managing director has been charged by the minister to use their good offices to champion the drive to bring in new strategic partners to help make the company viable and responsive to the challenges and opportunities of our time.

“The Tema Oil Refinery has a longstanding and chequered history that I am sure we are all familiar with. Indeed, two years ago this month, I had the duty of inaugurating a substantive board after an Interim Management Committee had replaced an earlier substantive board. Despite several interventions in the past, TOR seems to remain in distress. This cannot, and must not continue” the minister said.

“There is enough demand in the country for what TOR’s core mandate stands for, and I urge you to see new entrants into the market more as your collaborators than your competitors per se.,” he said.

“In that process, I urge you to be mindful that demand is not stagnant, and TOR must work hard towards becoming a viable player in this industry and to take advantage of the demand for your services.”

He added “Before, I conclude I would want to urge TOR to make a deliberate effort to ensure that it becomes a modern day 21st century organization centered on profit-making as a State-owned company supporting the government of the day.”

Other members of the Board include Dr Antoinette Tsiboe-Darko,  Edith Sapare Grant, and Nana Akua Bakoma Prempeh.

It also includes Loraine Crabbe Ababio, Alfred Thompson,  Joseph Mensah Browne, Kwame Baffoe, and  Herbert Ato Morrisson.